Natural Hair Journey: Post 1. 8/7/09.

Posted on August 7, 2009. Filed under: Hair, Hair Journey, Style | Tags: , , , , , |

Another reason why I started my Diary blog is because I wanted to be able to document change throughout MY journey of becoming 100% natural, hair wise. Nah, all wise really. I have always wanted and longed for my natural hair. I got relaxed when I was about 6 years old by my mother. She didn’t wanna deal with my hair and I had a sister so I guess a relaxer was the easy way out. I remember that day though.

I was telling her that I didn’t want a relaxer, I knew my hair would get damaged. I just didn’t see how a relaxer was the right way to go. It made my head burn, my mom never felt like retouching my relaxer when I needed it. I wasn’t taking care of my hair properly. I didn’t know how too. Even though there is this big debate in America about Natural vs. Relaxed hair I was on the relaxed side, but now I want a change. I want my hair to grow. I wanna be proud of my hair. I want thicker hair!

I WANT MY NATURAL HAIR. POINT. BLANK. PERIOD. It’s time for us to get acquainted. We’ve never really known each other.

Other than relaxing I was never into the weave. I have never had a sew-in. Never worn a wig. Never had any type of extensions unless it was braids. I just felt like I was being fake if I did all of that. However, I don’t see anything wrong with someone else doing those things. Whatever you can do to feel better about yourself I say do it. I may start looking into some of these styles as they can be an easy way to protect hair while trying to maintain length, now as I’m getting more educated on how to take care of my transitioning hair.

So, about my journey, I never really decided to just transition to natural hair. It just kind of happened, on a fluke… by accident. About a year && 2mths. ago I moved from North Carolina to California and at the time I had braids.. So I would say about 2 months after I got out to Cali I took out my braids and I did relax my own hair again and I don’t even know WHY I did, but I wore my relaxed strands for a while after that. After that I really just ended up getting my hair braided again and decided that I wouldn’t get any more.

A lot of people’s Fotki’s and YouTube accounts that I have come across include dates of their last relaxers and how many inches their hair has grown since. I don’t have all of that. My decision wasn’t really that much of a conscious one. So, since then I’ve really just been braided. I was wearing a half-wig for a while, with my hair braided underneath but now I have some cornrows…

So, that’s what I did. I haven’t relaxed in almost a year now, so recently I started trying to educate myself on how to take care of my new natural hair. I got on YouTube, searched out a few natural hair ladies with really great tips and started to follow them and came up with some sort of a regimen, but as you transitioning ladies know, that always changes. I think I may have turned into a small Product Junkie!! In fact, I’m pretty sure that I have.

My staple products include..

the Shea Butter & Green Tea Moisturizer from Softsheen.
Moisturizer SoftSheen

100% Natural Shea Butter.
Raw Shea Butter

Herbal Essences Totally Twisted Curls & Waves Conditioner –I would also love to try their None of Your Frizziness Conditioner but I have not been able to locate it in any store…so I will stay with what I have been using for now..
HerbalECurls & Waves

Before I was using Suave’s — Conditioner. That worked pretty well but I think it may have been drying my hair out, I don’t know. I liked i, but when I conditioned with my Herbal Essences my hair turned out really good!! So, I’ll stick with that until I find something better…

Herbal Essences Hello Hydration Shampoo –Heard good things about this shampoo on YouTube && I agree with all that I read.
HerbalE Hello Hydration Shampoo

Deeeeep 3 Minute Miracle Moisture Treatment —I only use this every once in a while. I don’t know if it helps, but I like to think that is does.
AusseMoisture Treatment

Aphogee Protein Treatment, Balancing Moisturizer && 2 Minute Reconstructor —LOVESSS these!
Aphogee Set.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Natural Hair Journey: Post 1. 8/7/09.”

RSS Feed for …the Vixen Tells. Comments RSS Feed

Good Luck, Im sure your hair will be beautiful.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

