Natural Hair Post #2: 8/21/09

Posted on August 22, 2009. Filed under: Hair, Hair Journey, Style, Women | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |

so.. this is my second post about my Natural Hair Journey. I was recently rocking some cornrows (that I did myself by the way) and just took that transition style down. I just wanted to do a quick update on what i’m doing to my hair since I took my braids down && how I keep it moisturized. It seems that my hair has grown at least a half-inch, as well, but those braids also take a toll. I’m glad that I don’t have to constantly comb my hair everyday, but I easily get frustrated when unraveling. I had many many knots and tangles and I was literally ripping at my hair && now I regret it. I know I should NOT have done my hair like that but next time i’ll try to do better. I’m still new to this “demarcation line” so hair, please bare with me!

Before I braided my hair up && after my big chop (in the back) I wasn’t really comfortable wearing my hair out but now that it has grown some I love it…I think it’s pretty nice. It’s also helping me to embrace && love my natural hair as it is. I will probably add pics later. I just don’t really have the time tonight.

My Moisturizer
–My Moisturizer.

While in transition mode, I have been rocking the two-strand twist style, as well as the braids (switching of). I am loving this transition style. It’s easy to do && it helps to keep your hair moisturized. What I usually do is just twist my hair at night (while wet), applying my shea butter mixture && moisturizer to each of the strands to twist. This way my entire head gets equal treatment when it comes to the care of it. I may sometimes also spray my hair with this little concoction of mine: mostly just different types of oils && water just to keep my hair extra soft.


–This is a link to a tutorial of RusticBeauty’s two strand twist, just for those of you that are curious as to what i’m talking about in this post..

In the morning I just undo the twists && style as I choose. Most of the time you have to pick out the roots because it’s easy for the hair to keep the parts you make in order to twist.

So I just wake up, untwist, pick apart the strands && then pick out the roots for more fullness..

I’m sure this is a common and well-known transitioning && natural style. Wish me luck on my journey!!
Tips && Suggestions are much appreciated!!!!!!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Natural Hair Post #2: 8/21/09”

RSS Feed for …the Vixen Tells. Comments RSS Feed

Good luck on your transition! It sounds like you’re doing GREAT 🙂 Do you deep condition? You might want to add one into your routine to help keep your new growth moisturized.

Best,
Alice
http://diaryofakinkycurlytransition.blogspot.com/

Yes ma’am I do. I try to deep condition every week unless I have braids or another style that can’t be washed. I use the Shea Butter & Green Tea Deep Conditioner but i’m still looking for something better…I also use the Profectiv Growth Conditioner to deep condition, but I can only find packets. I haven’t found an actual bottle of the stuff.

Hey, have you visited the website blackhairmediaforum.com? You may have but it is a great site and has specific sections (including natural hair and transitioning) every question you can think of is on there from women all over.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

